Tuesday, May 24, 2011

5 LBS DOWN!!

Quick post. I was down 5 lbs today from last week. Worked out tonight on push-ups and sit-ups and with jumping jacks. Nothing too amazing, but the push-ups and sit-ups are starting to get easier with the vest.

Tomorrow I am going to work on the run. Going to do the two mile with the vest then go from there. Going to hit the hay for now!

Friday, May 20, 2011

Still Kickin'!

Well, today I kept on going. I ran a timed mile which was not too impressive. It was 8:30, but that was with my 20lb weight vest on. I will time my two mile some time in the next few days. But hey, that is still a go on a PT test, even though I want to do much better than that. Sometimes it actually seems that the second mile gets a little easier for the first half, then the second half is the one that kicks your but when you are running for time.

After the run, I did push-ups and sit-ups with the vest and some other exercises. It is a big difference the vest makes when you are trying to do those. But it makes for a quick butt kicking workout!

Besides a little ice cream, I ate very sensibly today. Mostly liquids. Protein shakes, juice and soup. then I had some grilled chicken and potatoes after my work out. All in all, a good day and I feel better already!

Thursday, May 19, 2011

I'm BACK BABY!

Ok, so I have totally neglected this. I was on a great track a few months ago, then SPRING BREAK happened. Oh, and just pure laziness. But after a spring break with way too much fun, I returned to back to school with a heavy load of paper writing and a lead up to finals. That and crappy weather helped lead to a bunch of crappy excuses that i let keep me from working on my goal. But now I am back on track BABY!!!

So this week I started working back out again, and today I decided to start watching the food again. I report for military duty in less than 2 weeks and one of the first things up will be a PT test. I am working out running, push-ups and sit ups with a 20lb weight vest. This is my quick train up that will make it easier on the PT test when that 20 lbs is not there. Today it about KILLED ME!!! It is going to take everyday, maybe twice a day workout to get a decent score on the PT test.

I ran a pretty decent mile today with the vest, not sure on the time because I did not have my watch. Then I ran wind sprints. It does not seem like too much, but that vest is a killer when you are pushing it. I plan on hitting the gym tonight for round 2, or I might just go for another run. I am doing push-ups and sit-ups through out the day.

Right now, my focus is not on my weight, but being in PT test shape. The weight will come with that. V-8 and protein shakes are my friend! It is amazing what an appetite suppressant exercise is. If I am not working out, I would be munching all day like the fatty that I am!

So with that, I am once again going to use this blog to shame me into exercising, getting in shape and losing weight. Please feel free to call me out on it if you are not seeing it!

Wednesday, March 9, 2011

See Ya Soon 220s!!!

     I am thinking I will break into the 220s by Saturday at the latest! That actually gets me excited. It is a good feeling getting closer to your goal. Thanks to all of you, even if it is a very few, that keep up with my blog or at least read a little of it every once in a while!

     Today was a little harder to make myself work out. My daughter does not have basketball practice anymore so I do not meet up with my buddy to run with in the evenings. I finally made myself get off the couch after 9 pm and head to the gym. I worked out for about an hour and burned about 800 calories. That was over half of my total calorie intake for the day!!!

     I am heading out of town on Saturday and going to visit my buddy in Flagstaff for a week. Luckily he will have to work during the day and I will be able to work out and get all caught up on school.  I already have in my head that I might blow my diet a little bit. I mean, you gotta live and indulge every now and then! I am sure that there will be a few drinks to be had and I might even have a steak or 2! It is crazy to think that I have not had meat or cheese in two and a half weeks. That just means when I do have a little more fun than normal, I will have to make up for it in working out a little harder. I think it will be a fair trade!!

      For now, I am going to finish studying for a quiz tomorrow(BOOO!!!) and hit the hay. I think I might have talked myself into running twice tomorrow for a total of 6 miles! Good night all!

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

10 Down...30 to go!!!

     In less than 25% of the time I have given myself, I have reached 25% of my goal!! I am down to 232!
It is not coming off as fast as it did in the beginning. This last weekend did not help much either. I was not able to eat the way I wanted or exercise because I had drill. I did try and eat the best I could with what I had available.

     I went four days without exercise, but I was back at it today with a 3 mile run. It felt really good! It is amazing how you miss working out once you start doing it. It is very stress relieving. It makes sitting through law school classes a little more tolerable! lol

      I was pretty hungry today, so I ended up having around 1,500 calories. I know that might not seem like a lot, but it was plenty of food. That included a slim fast shake and snack bar for breakfast, a muscle milk lite and banana for lunch, a yogurt snack bar, 2 egg white English muffins from Subway, an egg sandwich, a peanut butter and honey sandwich and a small glass of skim milk. Oh, and 3 pickles! All that, and it was only around those 1500 calories. Plenty right? I think so.

     Well, I have to get off here, my wife tells me, and spend some time with her and peanut( our baby that is due in July.) See ya next time!

Thursday, March 3, 2011

I Guess I Lied!!

     I said I was not going to weigh myself until Friday, but I could not wait. I am down 8 lbs in 11 days! Woohoo! I can really tell a difference in the way I feel, and in the the way my clothes are fitting. I also got a haircut today, so that must have helped too! lol

     I kept up with my exercise today. I ran with a buddy of mine in between classes. It was at least 3 miles. I felt awesome after that for the rest of the day! It is amazing what a stress reliever exercise is. I even let it slide when the lady over charged me a quarter for my sandwich at Subway! lol

     With the fruit smoothie I just made and enjoyed, I probably had around 1,000 calories or less. I have had a lot of Subway lately, and it is not growing old. The egg white English muffin with no cheese and all the veggies you want is just awesome! I top it off with mustard, because it is only like 5 calories. One sandwich is suppose to be 115 calories. I sometimes get 1, but have no problem eating 2! If it can fill up this fatty...it can do the trick for you as well. You need to try it! I do not know anything else like it, that is only$1.75!!!

     Ok, I guess it is time to give my attention to my beautiful wife. So with that, good night and good luck with meeting your goals!

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

The Pants are Getting LOOSER!!!

     Today I tried on some shorts that I could not fit into a few weeks ago. Not only could I fit in them, but they were actually loose on me! It was a pretty good feeling I must admit. Nothing like saving some bucks on new clothes because you can fit into your old ones!

     I went running with my buddy this evening while our girls were at basketball practice. We did a little over three miles all together. I say all together because we walked about 2/10ths of a mile. We did run the three though. Hey, at least this fatty is working up to it!!

     I ate pretty well today, probably right around 1,100 calories or so. For dinner I even had spaghetti! I only had one small bowl, compared to my usual 2 JETHRO size bowls! But you know what, with that and a salad, it filled me up, well that and a girl scout cookie. lol!

     Tomorrow I am going to go run for another three miles in between classes. I am really learning to make the most of my time to get my exercise in. It makes it so much easier when you have someone there to do it with you. So, it will be my law school buddy and me running around downtown OKC again. As for the rest of the night, bout to take a shower and hit the hay. Good Night all!!

Tuesday, March 1, 2011

Fat and Happy!!

    As I am writing this, I feel fat and happy! I had a french toast and egg dinner. It topped of what was about a 1,000 calorie day. That included subway and a protein/V-8 fusion shake for breakfast. I had several snacks also. I have been really full all day even with this low calorie diet!

     I ran about 3 miles this afternoon with one of my law school buddies. It was actually really nice. We went through Brick Town in OKC and through some really nice neighborhoods. He is in his late 40s and can run me in the ground! But I was able to hang with him this afternoon.

   Not hopping on the scales until Friday, so no updates there. Just going to keep on keepin' on!!! Have a good night!

Monday, February 28, 2011

Survived the Weekend!

     Well, I made it through the weekend without too much damage. I strayed a little bit, but stayed pretty much on course. I did not get much exercise in and I had a couple of beers. I ate at Red Lobster and the only bad thing I did was the cheddar bay biscuits. Other than that, I have not had meat or cheese in a week. I am feeling much better anywhoo.

     For breakfast on Sunday, I made french toast! Mmmmm! I did it with bread that is 40 cal/per slice. With that and sugar free syrup, each slice was under 100 calories. It just goes to show that you do not have to completely miss out on things if you just to a little tweaking with the preparation.

      I am going to try and avoid the scale this week until Friday. I just want to keep on doing what I am doing. I know the results will come. I would like to get down to 232 by the end of the week. That will be right on my goal of losing 40 lbs! It might get a little harder again on the weekend when I have drill and might not have the choice of what I get to eat. But I will still try to make smart choices.

     I might try to double down on some exercise this week. Tonight I ran a little over 2 miles. Somehow I feel like I still have too much energy! I really need to hit the books and a shower though. So, we will see. Until next time....same Fat Time....Same Fat Channel.

Friday, February 25, 2011

WOOHOO!!! 6 lbs DOWN!!!!

     I jumped on the scale this evening and I am already down to 236!!! That is 6lbs in 6 days! I have not exercised yet today, but I will try to do a little something before bed. I was just really excited to see that and thought I had to share. I do not know how many calories I have had today, because we ate lunch at my neighbor's restaurant. I still made wise choices and tried to keep the count low.

     The weekend is here, and that means a little different routine. My wife is out of town, so it is just me and my youngest daughter here this weekend. We have her basketball game and a soccer match to go to. It will be a little bit harder to stick to everything, especially since I can't go to the gym or take a run when I feel. Someone might not think it is the best parenting decision to leave an 8 year old at home alone to go for a jog!! lol!

     Well, that is it for now. I think I might even have a beer this weekend! That just means more exercise...booo! lol

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Another Day Down!

     Here I am one day closer to my goal. I think I found a great new snack! Muscle Milk Lite and a Special K 90 calorie bar. It really filled me up for a long time and the combination is only 260 calories. All together, I had about 1,300 calories today and I have not felt hungry once.

     Oh, another thing is Subway's egg white muffin! The calorie count says it is 170 calories with cheese. I did not have the cheese so I do not know what that makes it, but a couple of those were pretty good for dinner! So, after dinner I was around 1,000 calories. That left me plenty of room to have a little treat. A good ol' cup of coffee and a Pop Tart. And yes, it was delicious!!

     For my exercise, I took advantage of my time at my daughter's soccer practice and ran. I jogged for a while and then did some sprints. My legs feel like they are getting back to normal after a good nights rest. And that is what I am looking forward to again tonight! So goodnight all, and remember that if you are tired of being a fatty, you are the only one that can fix it!

Wednesday, February 23, 2011

4 Lbs. IN 4 DAYS!

     Well, I have lost 4 lbs in 4 days! Not too shabby, and that is exceeding my goal. I am happy, but not too happy. I know that it will get harder and it will not be this rapid, but if it is that will be great!

     Today I have had somewhere around 1,500 calories. That included a delightful doughnut and a delicious bagel! Mmmmmm......I love eating that stuff, but instead of eating four, I am only eating one. My entire idea is to be calorie conscious, but to eat what I want when I am hungry. Instead of pigging out, I am just eating smaller and more often.

     I am about to die of the JELLY LEGS!!! It about killed me on my run tonight. Heck, it about killed me just trying to walk today! If you have ever worked out your legs very hard, you know what I am talking about. That feeling that your legs are just not doing what you want them to do and they are all mushy like JELLY! I pained my way through it though.

     Since I am done early, I am going to enjoy the rest of the night. Watch a little RAZORBACK basketball, a little American Idol ( that's right, I watch it! What of it?) and study a little bit for school. I hope you all have a great night. And if you are tired of being a FATTY like me, DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!!!

I HAVE BROKE INTO THE 230s!!!

     Well, this post was really late, mainly because I had to drag myself to the gym at 11:15 at night. I think this blog and putting it all out there is the only thing that might shame me into accomplishing my goal! lol! I did drop under 240 on the scale already, so I am meeting my goal for now. The only problem that I realize with that, is there is that dreaded plateau. I am pretty sure that I will have plenty of encouragement by then to keep on a chooglin'!

     I won't bore you with everything I shoved in my fat face today, since it is so late. I did eat somewhere around 1,500 calories. I hit the gym for about an hour and did an entire body work out including cardio. I am starting to feel really good so far!

     Well, it is time to hit the hay, and get rested back up to tackle it all again tomorrow. Same Bat Time...Same Bat Channel!

Monday, February 21, 2011

I ACTUALLY KEPT GOING!

    Well, here it is, day 2 of my plan, and i did not quit!!! I started off the morning with an 8 oz. glass of V-8 Fusion mixed with one scoop of protein powder for breakfast. It was actually pretty tasty! I of course followed that up with a big ol' cup of coffee with my sugar free creamer. I go pretty heavy on the creamer, because it is delicious! So for the morning that was probably around 350 calories, but with a serving of fruit, a serving of vegetables and a nice amount of protein. The coffee was just because!

     For lunch I had some more of the homemade vegetable soup from last night. I would only be guessing that it was probably around 150 calories. It was plenty to fill me up though. In between classes I had a and energy drink which was 40 calories and a small package of trail mix, which was a whopping 280 calories! It was the perfect snack though. It helped me make it through my long drawn out classes of the afternoon!

     After school, I went to pick up my daughter for basketball practice. She was a little hungry, so I stopped to get her a snack. Ok....Ok, I won't lie, I was glad she asked, because I was hungry too! Using your brain so much will make a dude hungry. lol! So we each grabbed a granola bar, and she had a string cheese. My bar came out to be 160 calories. So by 5:30 in the afternoon, I had right under 1,000 calories. Not too bad, especially compared to the fatty way I have been eating!!!

     At my daughter's practice, I decided not to waste any time by getting my work out over with. I started off with ten minutes of jumping rope. I followed that up with a 30 minute jog, which felt really good, since it has been way too long since I have been jogging. It is amazing how much better you can feel after just 2 days of exercising. I would think that most of that is mental.

     When we got done at practice, we headed home. My wonderful wife had dinner waiting for us on the table. I had a salad topped with a 1/4 of trail mix and some almost calorie free dressing along with what was left of the vegetable soup. I would say that all together, my dinner could not have been more than 250 calories. That would put me at measly 1,250 calories for the day! The way i see that, I still have room for another snack later if i want one, and yeah...I will probably want one! lol! I think a good idea is a bowl of cereal. If you follow the measurement portions, a serving of most cereals is under 200 calories with skim milk. Mmmmm....I am already thinking about it!

     That is about it for now. Hopefully I can hop on the scale in a few days and see some progress that will be encouraging! Until next time....

Sunday, February 20, 2011

WELCOME!

     Hey guys! This is my new blog that is going to track my progress on my goal to lose 40 lbs! That's right, this fatty is really going to try and lose 40 big ones. I am an Army officer and a law student. After getting in super great shape over the summer (2010) going through Officer Candidate School, I have really let it slide while I have been attending law school, which is a challenge all in its own. Not to mention that my wife is prego, which makes eating right an even harder challenge. Baby gets what baby wants! lol!

     So, to begin with, I asked my wife to buy a scale when she was at the store today. When she brought it home I hopped on to get my starting weight. It was a mammoth 242! Well, that is my starting point. My goal is to try and lose my weight in 60 days. (That is .66 lbs/day). I have done this before, by using diet and exercise, but that was over 10 years ago!!! I lost 60 lbs in 60 days then, but it was a much different situation. I have some fantastic Army training coming up over the summer, and I desperately need to be in great shape to be able to hang physically without a problem.

     I will be doing this with exercise and diet. And the only part of my diet that I will be hardcore focusing on is eating meat and cheese. This was my success the first time around. The weight just melted off. I just hope I have the will power to withhold myself! It is never easy, especially with the hectic schedules that we have around here. Fast food and easy eats always seem way too convenient. But, that is why I have started this blog, to help hold myself accountable. I think it is an important part of any goal to write it down, form a plan and track results.
 
     So, that is what this is. Follow along if you like and see my progress, perhaps my setbacks. I will try to be entertaining with it as well, and for those who know me, for good or bad, I am usually entertaining if nothing else! Stay tuned and I might even add some of those before and after pictures, just don't read this directly after eating!
     Thanks for reading, and check back often for my updates and progress reports!

Day 1

     Hey guys! This is my new blog that is going to track my progress on my goal to lose 40 lbs! That's right, this fatty is really going to try and lose 40 big ones.

     Today I ate what does not sound like much of a diet but it is really about caloric intake. For breakfast I had a couple eggs and toast. I later had a couple cups of coffee with sugar free creamer, and 2 cookies. I know, cookies should never be in a diet, but everything should be in moderation. Remember, my main focus is to not eat meat and cheese. Later for lunch I had a PB&J, with a small glass of skim milk. For dinner I had a bowl of homemade vegetable noodle soup. And to top that off, I had a half glass of milk and a pop-tart, yes I said a pop-tart! All together, it was about an 1,800 calorie day. That is pretty good for a big guy, and I felt very satisfied all day.

      Later this evening, I went back to the store and found my friend JUMP ROPE! It has been way too long since we have hung out, and I thought it would be a great chance to catch up on old times. So, I made my way back to the house, got all suited up in my sauna gear, hoodie and work out pants, and got reacquainted with my old pal. It was a short visit of about thirty minutes, but it was a good one for not seeing each other in such a long time! 

      Well, since I got that out of the way, I think it is time to take a shower, study for school and hit the hay so I can get up early and have another chat with my buddy before I head to school in the morning. Thanks for reading and I hope you have a good night!